Columbia arts logo


(COLUMBIA BASIN) – The Columbia Kootenay Cultural Alliance (CKCA) invites members of the arts and culture
community in the Columbia Basin to join its volunteer Steering Committee. The CKCA is a representative body
of the arts and culture communities across the Basin and manages and administers arts and culture funding
programs on behalf of Columbia Basin Trust (CBT).
The CKCA Steering Committee consists of 12 members: six from the West Kootenay, five from the East
Kootenay, and one from the Valemount area. CKCA represents all the disciplines in the arts (visual art, music,
theatre, dance, film / video, literary and interdisciplinary arts) and cultural knowledge and practices; therefore, it
is important to provide broad representation on the Steering Committee. CKCA is particularly interested in new
members that represent youth and / or cultural diversity.
Steering Committee members are elected for two-year terms and represent the broader needs of arts and
cultural sectors in the Basin rather than individual arts or cultural organizations or the communities in which they
Nominees to the Steering Committee must have a strong background in arts or culture, should have experience
in working on boards/committees, be able to work collaboratively, be impartial, and must understand the needs
and issues of the sector in order to develop funding programs/policies and adjudicate proposals. Members are
expected to attend at least two Steering Committee meetings and one to two arts council adjudications per year
in various locations in the Basin.
Nominees to the CKCA Steering Committee do not have to be members of any organizations but must be
nominated by a local community arts council.
Each eligible arts council may put forward only one nomination. If there are more arts council nominees in each
region than seats available on the Steering Committee, regional elections will be held in the beginning of April. It
is recommended that nominees (if elected) will be willing to attend occasional arts council meetings to stay in
touch with local / sector issues.
Currently, community arts councils eligible for nominating representatives to the Steering Committee are:
West Kootenay: Arrow Lakes, Castlegar, Rossland, Salmo, Slocan Lake, Trail, Nelson, Revelstoke
East Kootenay: Creston, Sparwood, Columbia Valley, Golden
All other communities currently have a sitting Steering Committee member.
For more information on the nomination process, please contact your local arts council or call CKCA at 1-877-
For more information on CKCA, please visit Deadline for arts council
nominations is 5 pm PDT, Friday, April 9, 2021.
For further information, contact:
Columbia Kootenay Cultural Alliance